Main Content

Access Files in MATLAB Online

MATLAB® Online™ provides access to MATLAB from a standard web browser. You can access your files in MATLAB Online by uploading them from your system or by adding them directly to your MATLAB Drive™. You also can download files from MATLAB Online to your system and restore previous versions of your files.

Upload Files to MATLAB Online

To upload files from your system to MATLAB Online, in your system file browser, select the files that you want to upload. Then, drag the files anywhere on the MATLAB Online desktop. MATLAB places the files in the current folder. To upload them to a specific folder, drag them over the desired folder in the Current Folder browser. Alternatively, you can upload files by going to the Home tab, and in the File section, clicking the Upload button.

When you upload a file to MATLAB Online, it is added to your MATLAB Drive. If you add files to your MATLAB Drive outside of MATLAB Online, you can access those files in MATLAB Online. For more information about adding files to MATLAB Drive, see Add Files to MATLAB Drive (MATLAB Drive).

Download Files from MATLAB Online

To download a file from MATLAB Online to your local system, in the Current Folder browser, select the file. Then, on the Home tab, click the Download button.

Restore Files in MATLAB Online

In MATLAB Online, each time you save a code file, MATLAB stores the contents of your file in the version history. To recover a previous version of a file, select the File Versions tab.

The file version history appears, as shown in this figure.

File Versions tab of the MATLAB Online toolstrip with options to browse older and newer versions, restore the current version, and select a version to view

Browse for the version you want by selecting from the list, or by clicking Older or Newer. When you find the version, click Restore as latest. MATLAB adds the restored file version to the top of your file version history with a new timestamp and version number.

Note

MATLAB Online stores previous versions of a file for 30 days. After 30 days, the previous version of the file is permanently deleted.

Related Topics